India made three changes for the fourth Investec Test against an England side who resisted the temptation to tinker with a winning formula at Emirates Old Trafford.

The tourists added opener Gautam Gambhir, spinner Ravichandran Ashwin and paceman Varun Aaron in place of Shikhar Dhawan, Rohit Sharma and Mohammed Shami, but the hosts left Steven Finn on the sidelines in an unchanged XI.

The hosts won by a handsome margin of 266 runs at the Ageas Bowl last time out, leaving the series level at 1-1.

Touring captain Mahendra Singh Dhoni won the toss after a half-hour rain delay and opted to bat despite cloud cover overhead.