VOTERS turned out yesterday (Thursday) to cast their ballot as parishes under Basingstoke and Deane Borough Council were up for grabs.

In Whitchurch last night Conservative gained the seat from the Liberal Democrats for the first time since the 1970s, with Councillor Dave George voted in.

Independent councillor Ian Tilbury retained his seat in Overton, Laverstoke and Steventon, while Conservative Graham Falconer retained Burghclere, Highclere and St Mary Bourne.

Confirmed results for these areas below:

Burghclere, Highclere and St Mary Bourne

-Conservative- Graham Falconer- 1,123

-Liberal Democrat - Pauleen Malone- 253

-Labour - John Rodway- 165

Turnout: 32.87 per cent

Conservative hold 

Overton, Laverstoke and Steventon

-Green - Kirsten Griffiths - 99

-Conservative - Alex Hedger- 545

-Liberal Democrat - Lucy Sloane Williams- 168

-Independent-  Ian Tilbury - 941

Turnout: 45.19 per cent

Independent hold


-Conservative - Dave George- 717

-Labour - Claire Isbester- 625

-Liberal Democrat - Linda Stepney- 439

Turnout: 43.05 per cent

Conservative gain from Liberal Democrats

Test Valley Borough Council did not hold elections this year and will be held in May 2019.