SPORTS stars and doctors are among the Hampshire figures who have been recognised in the Queen's Birthday Honours list.

Among the names are health staff, businessmen and community leaders.

One of those people who was recognised among the honours list was Mayor of Test Valley, Ian Carr, who has become a Member of the British Empire (MBE) for his services to local government and the community in the borough of Test Valley.

The former leader of Test Valley Borough Council said he was “chuffed to bits” after receiving the letter in the post.

Cllr Carr stepped down as leader of the council last year, a post he had held for the past 18 years.

Currently, for the second time in his career, he is also the mayor of the borough.

Speaking of his joy at receiving the award, he said it was something he ‘never expected’.

Cllr Carr said: “I had a letter through the post and it had the word ‘cabinet’ all over it.

“I either thought I was in trouble or it was an award!

“I’ve been in local government long enough to know what those letters look like.

“I am absolutely chuffed to bits with it. It has been horrible and painful keeping it from my closest family, friends and colleagues.”

As well as his services to Test Valley, the councillor has also been awarded for his services to local government as a whole, something he said made him feel proud.

Cllr Carr added: “It is a proud feeling for me.

“I have been in this career for many years and you never quite know if you are doing a good job or not, despite what people may be telling you.”

Another Andover resident who was named on the list, receiving a OBE was team leader of New Employment Model Implementation Programme, Stephen Thomas Hatherall who was recognised for his services to Armed Forces Personnel.

And being recognised with a CBE on the list was Overton resident Alexander John Marshall, for services to policing.

A number of other county figures have also been recognised in the Queen’s Birthday Honours list.

Hampshire County Council’s director of children’s services Steve Crocker has been awarded an OBE in the Queen’s honours list.

He has been recognised for the services to children’s social care in Hampshire and the Isle of Wight.

He said: “This was wholly unexpected and an amazing surprise and privilege.

“One thing I would like to make clear is that I very much see this honour as recognition of all the fantastic work that my colleagues in Hampshire and on the Isle of Wight do every day.”

Mr Crocker’s responsibilities for Hampshire County Council include education and the safeguarding of vulnerable children in the county and on the Isle of Wight.

Honours list in full:


• Professor Bashir Mohammed Ali Al-Hashimi. Professor of Computer Engineering University of Southampton. For services to Computer Engineering and to Industry. (Southampton)

• Mark Milford Power Carne. Chief executive Network Rail. For services to the Rail Industry. (Basingstoke)

• Professor Paul Stephen Little. Professor Primary Care, University of Southampton. For services to General Practice Research. (Romsey)

• Alexander John Marshall, QPM. Formerly chief executive, College of Policing. For services to Policing. (Overton)


• Steven James Crocker. Director of Children's Services Hampshire County Council. For services to Children's Social Care in Hampshire and the Isle of Wight. (Oxfordshire)

• David Harry Done. Chief executive Officer Richmond Housing Partnership. For services to Housing Provision. (Grayshott, Hampshire)

• Stephen Thomas Hatherall. Team Leader New Employment Model Implementation Programme. For services to Armed Forces Personnel. (Andover)

• Professor Keith Palmer. Chair Industrial Injuries Advisory Council. For services to Occupational Health and Medicine. (Southampton)

• Dr Joan Freeman Webber. Principal Pathologist Forest Research (Centre for Ecosystems, Society and Biosecurity). For services to Tree Health. (Alton)

• Ms Elizabeth Anne Yarnold, MBE. Athlete. For services to Winter Olympic Sport. (Hampshire)


• Ian Reginald Carr. Mayor and lately Leader Test Valley Borough Council. For services to Local Government and to the community in Test Valley, Hampshire. (Andover)

• Mrs Sarah Charters. Consultant Nurse, University Hospital Southampton NHS Foundation Trust. For services to Vulnerable Adults. (Hampshire)

• Dr James Shackley Dearden. Founder Ruskin Association. For services to Culture. (Bembridge, Isle of Wight)

• Dr Simon Leslie Edwards. Senior Lecturer in Youth Studies University of Portsmouth. For services to Youth Work and the Education of Young People. (West Sussex)

• Ms Sarah Fiona Haughey. Formerly Executive director Nursing and Quality, Dorset Healthcare University NHS Foundation Trust. For services to Nursing. (Ringwood)

• Kenneth George Western Hicks. For services to the community in the Isle of Wight. (Isle of Wight)

• Dr Rosemary Sylvia Helen Irwin. Chair, Gilbert White Museum and Oates Galleries. For services to Education and to the community in Selborne, Hampshire. (Selborne)

• Mrs Carol Ann Jackson. Chair of Governors, Fordingbridge Infant School, Hampshire. For services to Education. (Fordingbridge)

• Paul Travis Murray. For services to charity and to the community in Winchester. (Winchester)

• Dr David Adrian Sanders, TD. For services to charity and to the community in Hampshire and Sussex. (Hampshire)

• Dr Nigel Frank Watson. General Practitioner, The Arnewood Practice, Hampshire. For services to General Practice. (New Milton)



• Dr Frank MacDonald Akerman. Trustee and lately Honorary secretary Romsey and District Society Buildings Preservation Trust. For services to Conservation in Romsey, Hampshire. (Romsey)

• David Kenneth Compton. Volunteer Warden Old Winchester Hill National Nature Reserve, Hampshire. For services to Nature Conservation. (Petersfield)

• Soorendra Lingiah. Chair Minority Ethnic Group for All, Kingston Hospital NHS Foundation Trust. For services to BAME Patients. (Fleet)