A SECONDARY school has proudly celebrated the achievements of a particularly special year group.

Harrow Way School has recognised its class of 2017, the year group which marked the school’s 50th anniversary, at a celebration evening.

Watched by proud families, teachers and governors, the year group were joined by special guest, Shonagh Manson, along with the Mayor of Test Valley, Councillor Carl Borg-Neal and the mayoress.

Shonagh, a former Harrow Way student is the assistant director, culture and creative industries working for the mayor of London, Sadiq Khan.

Headteacher Michael Serridge welcomed back the former students praising them for their GCSE performance, which he described as another set of outstanding results for the school.

Addressing the audience, he said: “In 1967 we opened our shiny new doors for the very first time, welcoming just 140 students.

“Over the past 50 years, thousands of students have walked through those doors. “You were the 50th year group through, initially as 11-year-olds of varying confidence and abilities but all leaving as selfassured 16-year-olds, bearing the hallmarks of a Harrow Way education - confident, independent and well-prepared for a successful future.”

Mr Serridge went on to introduce Shonagh who, before presenting the GCSE certificates and awards, told students: “Follow your passion and don’t be afraid to try anything and everything on the way.

“I worked from being a barmaid to an administrator at a pharmaceutical company then a director for the Jerwood Charitable Foundation before landing my dream job, only 12 weeks ago, working for the mayor of London.”

The award winners:

  • Jack Tugwell and Lauren Williams - winners of The Rotary Prize. Donated by The Rotary Club of Andover for community vocational service.
  • Bailey Saunders - winner of The Darling Cup. In memory of Richard Darling, for outstanding contribution to music.
  • Georgina Butler and Tommy Willard - winners of The Chris Overton Cup donated by Chris Overton for sporting achievement.
  • Louisa Jones - winner of The Hudson Cup. Donated by Rob Hudson for outstanding contribution to PE and school sport.
  • Adam Hampton - winner of The ‘Le Creuset’ Cup. For outstanding performance in catering.
  • Ella Tanner - winner of The Chris Overton Shield. Shield donated by Chris Overton, former headteacher, for performing arts.
  • Joshua Douch - winner of The Harrow Way Communications Trophy. Trophy donated by Owen Paterson, for outstanding contribution to ICT.
  • Noah Lynam - winner of The Mark Warren Shield. Retired deputy headteacher at Harrow Way after 31 years of service, for highest achiever in modern foreign languages.
  • Katie Scratchley - The Office Depot Shield. For outstanding contribution and achievement in mathematics and computing.
  • Millie Fulford and Lucy Ward - winners of The Veale/ Scicluna Shield. Shield from ex-English teachers, Margaret Veale and John Scicluna, for excellence in English and media.
  • Tayla Dawe - winner of The Partner West Africa Award.
  • Tia Fisher - winner of The Will Dyke Cup. Cup donated by John Tacey, former vicechair of Governors, presented by Brian Dyke for exceptional contribution to school life.
  • Emma Hunter - winner of The Burbidge Shield. Shield donated by Becky Burbidge, former chair of governors, for community spirit.
  • Alice Razza - winner of The Alice Razza Award. For courage and determination.
  • Mia Larkin - winner of The Harrow Way Trophy. For always doing your best.
  • Grace Witcher - winner of The Harrow Way Shield. For outstanding personal achievement.
  • Ethan Hawes - winner of The Harrow Way Cup. To the best all-rounder.
  • Millie Fulford - winner of The Harrow Way WOW Award. For outstanding performance.
  • Noah Lynam - winner of The Anne King Shield. The highest academic achiever Presentations to head boy and head girl, Matthew Cooper and Tia Fisher respectively