WITH four weeks until the general election the names for the potential parliamentary candidates for Basingstoke have been announced.

The seat is currently held by Conservative, Maria Miller, who has represented the constituency since 2005.

In the last week political parties have ramped up their campaigns to win voters with Prime Minister Boris Johnson visiting flood-hit Yorkshire, Labour leader Jeremy Corbyn spending time in Glasgow and Liberal Democrat leader Jo Swinson facing questions over electoral pacts.

Here is the list of prospective candidates for Basingstoke:

Maria Miller – Conservative

Kerena Marchant – Labour

Sashi Mylvaganam – Liberal Democrat

Jonathan Jenkin – Green Party

Alan Stone – Independent