AFTER 12 years of success a celebration of Andover’s unsung heroes will officially launch this week.

Recognising those who go above and beyond for their neighbours, colleagues and community, the Pride of Andover Awards will officially launch on June 15 for its 13th year.

The awards exist to shed light on the town’s unsung heroes — endorsing the inspiring and often selfless actions of Andover’s most generous individuals; promoting a sense of pride in the town.

There are a total of nine categories to nominate Andover’s community champions, which are backed by new and returning sponsors including New Street Dental Care, The Commercial Centre, Ocado, The Breeze, Bear Behind Ltd & The Carpet Cleaning Lady, Aspire Defence, Andover Leisure Centre — Places Leisure, The Rock House and Andover Vision.

The categories include:

• Heart of Gold Award

• Sue Sheppard Award

• Services Award

• Community Champion Award

• Young Person of the Year Award

• Inspiring Others Award

• Sports Award

• Fundraiser Award

• Arts Award

The awards overall winner will hold the title for the Spirit of Andover category.

David Mellor Family Jewellers is sponsoring the accolade, which will be picked from those who have been nominated in a different category.

Christine Mellor, of David Mellor Family Jewellers, said: “We’re delighted to be main sponsors of The Pride of Andover Awards once again.

“As a local business, we’re proud of our local community, and want to celebrate everything that makes Andover a wonderful place to live and work; namely, the selfless individuals who volunteer their time and energy, going out of their way to support others, and inspiring everyone whose lives they touch to achieve great things for the good of our town.”

The nomination period for the Pride of Andover Awards begins on Sunday, July 1, and ends on Friday, August 31.

Those interested in nominating their colleagues, friends or family for an award are asked to do so by filling out a form online, available on the Pride of Andover Awards’ website

For more information about the awards, including this year’s sponsors and categories, go to