HAMPSHIRE'S police and crime commissioner has thanked volunteers, staff, and partners from across the county in an annual award ceremony.

The Police and Crime Commissioner Awards, which are dedicated to 'recognising those who have helped make communities safer and have improved the lives of others' were held on Friday, March 8.

This year's event, hosted by PCC Donna Jones in Winchester, marked the third ceremony held by the commissioner.

She said: “Volunteers, partners, community groups, and dedicated staff make a vital contribution to policing.

Andover Advertiser: PCC Donna Jones with the award winners

“Their efforts often go unseen, but in fact play a huge part in keeping people safe, day after day. It is right and proper for their unwavering commitment and dedication to be in the spotlight at this event.

“We received an incredible amount of nominations this year which made it so hard to judge. Every nomination encapsulated compassion, innovation and an unwavering sense of duty.

“Congratulations to all the winners and nominees on the night who clearly go above and beyond to make Hampshire and the Isle of Wight safe. I applaud you all for your commitment and outstanding service to your communities.”

The award winners are: 

  • Police Volunteer of the Year Award – Community Speedwatch Chandler’s Ford
  • Bobby on the Beat Award  – PC Paul Knaggs
  • Business Crime Prevention Award  – Eastleigh BID Crime Prevention Team
  • Commissioned Service Volunteer of the Year Award  – Andrew Coulbeck
  • Community Volunteer of the Year Award -  Peter Riley
  • Police Animal of the Year - Police Horse Odin and Police Dog Wilson
  • Police Recruit of the Year - PC Olivia Stone
  • Rural Crime Fighter Award - PS Stuart Ross
  • Safer Roads Award - Inspector Andy Tester
  • Special Constable of the Year Award - SS Lewis James
  • Supporting Victims of Crime Award - PC Becky Marshall
  • Tackling Anti-Social Behaviour Award - Jema Paull
  • Working in Partnership Award - Inspector John Smith & Ryan Prince 
  • Youth Engagement Award in memory of James Bowman - Saints Switching Play Team
  • Youth Volunteer of the Year Award - Chloe Headland
  • Commissioner's Special Recognition Award - Lisa Wills