TIDWORTH Royal British Legion were recently crowned regional snooker champions at the Andover and District Snooker League’s AGM.

The league held their annual meeting at the Enham Club last month, where Tidworth RBL were handed their championship trophies.

The team, lead by Steve Bregazzi, secured the title with a nine-point cushion in only their second season in the league.

They also finished runners-up in the handicap team knockout Other members of the team are Kev Bailey, Dan Campo, Lee and Paul George, Rob Mcnamara, Ian Brindley and Adonis Tigson.

Brindley was crowned most consistent player of the year.

Wolversdene B were runners up in the league Bob Grist’s team of Kevin and David Brooking and James Griggs finished three points clear of Enham B.

Enham C beat their B team in the final of the team 6 reds Alan Walters’s team of Mark Bishop, Malcome and Richard Sopp getting the better of Ken Brown, Ryan Pumfrey and Alex Ponting.

Walters and Bishop also defeated Brown and Pumfrey in the final of the Jim Fraser 6 reds pairs.

Bishop completed a great season beating Andy Bannan in the final of the Bill Cotterill scratch singles.

Scott Galpin won the Oliver Porter handicap singles beating Barry Coleman.

The handicap cup team knockout was won by Wolversdene A, Jerome Chaplin and his team of Carl Nicol, Jack Plain, Scott Galpin, Steve Stubbs and James Pawley beating Tidworth RBL.

Entries of the 2016-17 season are now being taken, anyone wishing to play in the league should contact Ken Brown on 07843 242440 for more details.

A floating handicap system is in place to help all standards.

Deadline: Sunday 14 August.